Review - The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson


Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable. 

REVIEW:
I really liked this book but Lennie, most of the time, bothered me.

I don't want to talk too much, because I'd give spoilers, but I want to say that this novel needs to be read, so you can understand it. I don't think is possible in a review to express the emotions, pain, happyness, the interior storms and other feelings, doesn't matter how hard I try. Is a full novel - it just fills you with emotions from the first page.

Everytime you hear me saying that I'm searching for books that'll make me feel and express something. The Sky Is Everywhere is one of these few books and I'm so glad that I've read it. Is such a easy and fast read, I read it in less than three hours, but is very complexe and full of emotions. Everything seems very real, you get attached to the characters very fast and you want  to help them.

I won't say that is a sad novel that makes you cry, for me it was more melancholic and full of a sweet sadness, but deranges you a little after you finish it and you have a ton of thoughts in mind. I don't think is one of those books that after you've read them, just disappears from mind, this stays there, along with the others one that made you feel.

I was saying, at the beginning, that Lennie was the one thing that bothered me. Or better said, her decissions did, the fact that she didn't knew what she wanted or with which who to be, mixing everything and making everyone dizzy. It doesn't exist clearly, or maybe is, a love triangle, but because of Lennie, it somehow is forming. And this made me lower a bit the rating, because destroyed the beauty of the novel.

Toby and Joe are both nice, different but so much alike and in a way I wanted to pat them on the back or to smile to them, when Lennie was playing with them and didn't care if in her egoism and her pain, sometimes false or true, they were wounded. I'd say that she was so lucky to have them near her and I was happy when, due to their kindness and warm character, everything fitted.

I recommend this novel to those who want something fresh, extremely honest and full of emotions, realistic, which makes you smile and somehow you want to cry, and sometimes, they want to take a small break from books full of actiond and paranormal or dystopia.

4/5

0 comentarii: